How to Share Gmail Contacts with their Pictures

9:20 AM 2 Comments

Why are your contact photos so important? 

Have it ever happened to you that you have a bunch of contacts in your phone but you barely can remember who they are? Don’t feel bad. When it comes to linking faces and names, our brains are better at storing visual data, such as a face, than a briefly heard name. “We are visual creatures" and this is also why your contacts on your smartphone, Gmail and any social media platform have a field for you or the people you know to add a picture (or to automatically retrieve it from other profiles).

How can Shared Contacts for Gmail help? 

There's a new feature:  Now you can update the pictures of your contacts and synchronize them with rest of the users you shared the contact with! Therefore, when a user searches for a contact by typing his/her email address, any profile photo associated with this address will appear automatically.

Can't see the picture of a contact but your colleagues do?

No biggie! Then depending on the permissions you assign to them, you can receive the update of the picture as well.An update like this seems like a tiny detail, but it can make a huge difference when trying to remember & connect with these contacts, therefore strengthening your bonds!



Vivian H. Schrijver

If you enjoyed reading this blog post, like it, share it, or add your comments. Follow us and visit our website.

2 comments:

  1. "depending on the permissions you assign to them" – Ok. But what exactly doews this mean? How do I set the right permissions?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hey Andi,
      Shared Contacts for Gmail® has different permissions you can set when you share a group of contacts with your users: select from "View Only" , "Can Edit" , or "Can Edit and Delete". Just like you share a Google doc :)

      If you would like to read more about on how to assign permissions correctly go to http://blog.gmailsharedcontacts.com/2014/07/shared-contacts-for-gmail-now-includes.html

      If you want even more detailed instructions, our users manual is http://www.gmailsharedcontacts.com/users-manual/

      Hope this helps!

      Delete